WTNH-TV Ends Contract of Geoff Fox


Waking up at 8PM Wednesday evening after having a healthy power nap, I learned the breaking, yet disturbing news, that Geoff Fox, meteorologist from WTNH-TV in New Haven, will not have his contract renewed which is set to expire at the end of February. My initial thoughts were that this was some type of communication error. I mean how could it be? Geoff Fox is a television icon here in Connecticut. I grew up with him. We all grew up with him! After all, he has been forecasting Connecticut weather at WTNH since 1984.

Over the past couple of years, I have connected with television and radio personalities here in Connecticut. Having Geoff Fox as a friend on Facebook, I decided to head over to his page to see if he had any such announcements of this matter. When I arrived to his page, I didn’t need to search for him to tell me so. There was an overwhelming amount of supporters showing their care and concern for Geoff, as well as their displeasure towards WTNH, many who think they are now trying to clean house and bring in younger reporters.

I was not only alarmed, but also confused. Who made this decision? Who was the genius to not renew such a Connecticut icon that everyone here in Connecticut has fallen in love with over the years? I mean really? While I am hoping that WTNH decides to change their minds and abandon their decision to cut ties with Geoff, I couldn’t help but to feel at a loss for words. Geoff has done no wrong to any of his loyal viewers, let alone his colleagues. Geoff, undoubtedly, works very hard for Connecticut day in and day out. Recently, he wrote a blog post on his blog ” My Permanent Record“, stating that during the blizzard of 2010, which happened a day after Christmas, he was volunteering himself to go to work. I can’t imagine anyone who would actually want to go to work.

WTNH has made a number of changes since the start of the new year. Recently, meteorologist Matt Scott also did not have his contract renewed and has since moved on to another opportunity at WPLR radio in New Haven. While Matt was not as large of an icon as Geoff is, it was still quite the shock for all of us here in Connecticut. None of us, however, would have ever expected hearing about Geoff Fox leaving though.

I sit with the rest of Connecticut at this moment. I have to wonder who is next and what exactly is happening as local television icons seem to vanish right before our eyes. As a former business major, I do understand the principles of business, but I also understand that it is the people of the business that make it what it is, and Geoff Fox has certainly made WTNH a success story over the years.

Read the article from The Register Citizen by clicking here.

30 thoughts on “WTNH-TV Ends Contract of Geoff Fox

  1. Geoff Fox is without a doubt the best weatherperson in Connecticut and most entertaining personality on the Channel 8 News at 11. As a watcher of WTNH for more than 30 years I am outraged by WTNH’s decision not to renew his contract. Unless they do so, I shall watch Channel 3 in the future.

    • Melvin,

      Thank-you for your comment. I feel as though I grew up with Geoff, like many have over the years here in Connecticut. Geoff has always delivered the news with a personal touch. I am quite baffled by their decission, just like the rest of our state is today.

      Mike Valletta
      Editor/Publisher
      In Touch…with the Litchfield Hills
      Your Source for Everything Litchfield County!
      NorthwestCTMike@aol.com

  2. I too am incensed by they way WTNH is throwing Geoff by the wayside. Geoff has been an asset to the state of Connecticut and is as invested in the people of Connecticut as they are in him. He has always been ready to reach out to his viewers when they contact him with a personal reply. How many broadcasters do that?

  3. You know, this really bothers me about Geoff Fox. I have watched him since I was a little girl doing science reports on him while in school and throughout my life. He was always so much fun to watch, bringing humor into the weather and making it interesting. In fact, I usually only watch the weather, getting most of my other information online. Tell me, who will they replace him with, will they find the same kind of guy, who 12 years ago when I was getting married and it called for snow the weekend of my wedding would sent me a message telling me not to worry too much. That is what Geoff did, when I wrote him freaking out about the weather. His words were, the snow will be done before you wake the day of your I do’s…just think of what I said and plan for that and enjoy your day and yes..a big congrats.

    He took his time to write that to me, just 1 person of many who watch him, and I have never forgotten that. So for me, if they decide to stay with that decision of not renewing his contract, then like many others, I will no longer have any reason to give WTNH my time and will follow Geoff (hopefully staying in CT).

    I enjoyed your article and thank you.

  4. What a shame, he was the only credible weather person on air. I’m sad to see him go, but am sure that other opportunities with present themselves to him.

  5. I have noticed this is the way things are heading for many stations. They are wrong. Younger is not always better, experience does count, and they will lose many loyal followers. Although I am not a constant watcher, I have seen Geoff Fox many times. He certainly is one of the best.

  6. Mike,
    I am not alone in stating that I am HEARTBROKEN over this decision. Geoff IS Channel 8. All you have to do is go to WTNH’s Facebook page…..and you will see the many angry, disappointed comments from his loyal viewers. There even has been a Facebook page created Keep Geoff Fox on Channel 8.
    I don’t know who is making the decisions over there….but there are a LOT of loyal viewers that are going to turn the channel once Mr. Fox signs off……
    He is without doubt why most of us watch……and wait for …”Don’t go to sleep yet….”
    ;o(

  7. It’s too bad that WTNH has decided to let two of its best on air personalities go. Like many, I think I will probably be finding a new News Station to watch. I’ve barely been able to tolerate the morning news since the new traffic reporter Teresa LaBarbera started. I’d really like to know who comes up with her outfits?? Skin tight leopard dress?? Really? Half the time she looks like she is going to a club and not about to report the traffic. Even as a young woman of only 34, I do not think she looks HIP or anything other than just plain ridiculous. Matt & Geoff will be very much missed! New Ch 8 is going down the tubes!

  8. What a mistake…..what “suit” made this decision……have you ever heard the saying….if it works don’t change it. 26 years, now that says something of this man. I do hope he is picked up by another local station so that I can continue to watch him. A sad day for Channel 8.

  9. If Geoff is no longing doing the weather, we may as well watch the channel 3 news. In our house, we don’t watch “the news” we watch “Geoff”, This is a real shame.

  10. Folks,

    I want to thank-you all for your comments, but I also want to run down some numbers for you as well. This column has been viewed well over 700 times today, which is a record breaking number here at In Touch…with the Litchfield Hills for a single column. Here is the number breakdown:

    Over 300 views came from Facebook alone

    The column was shared by 80+ people on Facebook

    20 views came from The Register Citizen

    59 views came from the Google search term “Geoff Fox WTNH”

    21 views came from the Google search term “Geoff Fox”

    41 people clicked on the link to The Register Citizen’s article about Geoff Fox leaving.

    10 people commented on the article expressing their concern for Geoff.

    The column has been the top site on Google all day long coming in as the 6th site listed on the search term “Geoff Fox WTNH”

    (NOTE: The breakdown does not add to 700. There are more sources, many with single digits. To add them to this list, you would be here reading all day. Current site stats as I write this: 728)

    So what do these numbers all mean? They are not numbers for me. They are numbers for Geoff! The numbers show that there is a great deal of people who support Geoff!

    Thank-you all for showing your support for Geoff Fox. Not just some weather guy, our best friend in the business!

    Mike Valletta
    Editor/Publisher
    In Touch…with the Litchfield Hills
    Your Source for Everything Litchfield County!
    NorthwestCTMike@aol.com

  11. Pingback: Public Health Centre » Wtnh

  12. Pingback: WTNH-TV Ends Contract of Geoff Fox « In touch….with the Litchfield … | ENA news

  13. Pingback: Wtnh | Us News Video

  14. Pingback: The Facebook Obsession « In touch….with the Litchfield Hills

  15. GEOFF I JUST WANTED 2 SAY THAT I’LL MISS U ONCE U LEAVE AFTER FEB,CANT BELIEVE UV BEEN THERE ALL THAT TIME.I HAD THE PLEASURE OF MEETING U ON 10/18/1984. AT THE STATION 2 SEE JANET PECKINPAUGH AT THE TIME.THROUGH THE YEARS I ALSO HAD THE PLEASURE OF MEETING UR WIFE HELAINE TAKING PHOTOS AT THE NEW HAVEN 300TH BDAY CELEBRATION.REMEMBERING WHEN U WELCOME UR DAUGHTER STEPANIE IN THE WORLD.I WAS ALSO A WEATHER WATCHER SEVERAL TIMES.IT HAS BEEN A PLEASURE HAVING THE CHANCE 2 MEET U IN 1984.I HAVE WATHCED U ALL THESE YEARS AND WILL GREATLY MISS U WHEN UR GONE.I WISH U ALL THE BEST IN UR NEXT ENDEVOURS,U WERE SUCH A NICE PERSON EACH TIME I SAW U.GREAT 2 HAVE KNOWN U.HAVE LOOKED FORWARD 2 EACH OF UR WEATHER FORCAST.NO ONE CAN TAKE UR PLACE,UR SHOES ARE NOT REFILLABLE.UR ONE OF A KIND.CHANNEL 8 NEEDS 2 KEEP U,UR THE BEST AND NO ONE CAN REPLACE U.THEY WERE VERY BLESSED 2 HAVE U,IT WONT BE THE SAME WITHOUT R PRESENCE.MAY MORE SUCCESS FOLLOW U AS U TAKE UR NEXT JOURNEY IN LIFE.GOD BLESS YOU ALWAYS.I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A DEDICATED AND LOYAL FAN.MAY YOU ALWAYS KNOW-YOU WILL FOREVER HAVE MY SUPPORT WHERE EVER U GO.THANKS FOR EVERYTHING.U’LL BE MISSED.IT WOULD BE GREAT IF THEY HAVE A CHANGE OF HEART AND KEEP U IN UR PART RIGHT WHERE U BELONG.KAYLEIGH. MERIDEN

  16. saddened by this news. Did not know Matt Scott was gone either. WTNH has lost this viewer. Sad time for Connecticut indeed!

  17. I love Geoff! His personality and ability to not feed into the hype are unrivaled. My hypothesis is that they are planning to replace him with a younger and more aesthetically pleasing person like Fox 61 has done in recent years.

  18. Hey, great post. Great blog. It is fresh and to the point. I just read literally dozens of blogs, because I can’t sleep, and yours is by far the best quality. You know it is rare to find decent content on these things… Most of them are cheap and spammy.

  19. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who does indeed knows what they’re talking about on the internet. You at some point know how to bring an issue to light and make it advantageous. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  20. If Geoff goes so will alot of people. Wake up wtnh u are going to be very sorry if u really do this.I along with so many people I know are going to channel 3 .

  21. Pingback:   wtnh | Love Listening World's Voice

  22. I too was shocked to hear that Lin Media was not going to renew the contract for Geoff Fox….It is a sad day for WTNH and Ct. to lose the person. I guess Lin Media wants to increase the bonuses for their CEO’s? They own 32 TV stations in the US market. maybe they want to purchase more? Who is the next to be to be let go at WTNH? Geoff will have no problem getting another weather man job. Hopefully it will be a station I can receive, because that where will be watching the weather. WTNH will never be the same. The CEO’s at Lin Media SUCK!

  23. Well, you have lost this viewed as right now, which is 11:17 PM. I am so sick at what you have been doing with all of your changing of the “older crew” for your “younger crew”. I was not happy when you moved my favorite people on your 6:00 PM and then again on your 11:00 PM newscast. I stayed out of loyality to the station. But you have gone to far, I willl be watching both the NBC and CBS stations here in CT. Good bye, WTNH, Channel 8.

  24. Geoff you will be missed and I see that already. The person that replaced you has a very annoying voice and is not as good you. WTNH has lost the best meteorologist. SHAME ON WTNH. I will miss “Don’t go to sleep yet, there’s more news 8″

    Good luck and God bless you.

    Dianne

  25. I would like to put in my two cents about this Channel 8 mess. First I would like to say we miss Geoff not giving us up two date weather forecasts. But the joke is on them Geoff, all these storms coming in and not have to go out all hours to forecast these storms. They are doubling up and scurrying around because they are short on weather forecasters.
    Also, Channel 8 looks like they are looking to get all models for the news. We now have Mr. Marbles in his mouth Villanueva who most of us can’t understand. I would like to know how long they are going to say that Villanueva is in for Geoff. We look at each other every time it is said, talk about making the rest of the news staff feel uncomfortable lying every time because they know Geoff is not coming back. Wow!! Nice Job having the News Team lying for you, instead of telling the public the truth that you caned Geoff.
    Then we have the smiley everyone look at me, Teresa who thinks she is trying out for a Beauty contest and forgets where she is because she is more interested in the camera following her every move for the Beauty contest.
    Channel 8 get with the program!!!! We the viewers are interested in the news anchors knowledge on giving the public the correct up to date news. Not a modeling show!!!
    Geoff, we wish you the best of luck and please let us know where you go on your new job, you are an asset to any broadcast station.
    Best of Luck, WE MISS YOU

  26. Good thing you have here! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the details are well composed. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which really should do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

