Seek out On The Green in Litchfield


Ah, Litchfield. It’s a charming little town that was once the old county seat of beautiful Litchfield County, Connecticut. It’s nostalgic in every way possible. With houses as grand as the people that live in it, Litchfield is a quintessential New England town that is full of surprises around every corner. Recently, a new surprise appeared in the village center as a once popular restaurant, Aspen Garden, closed up shop and left the town of Litchfield without a delightful place to eat on cool summer nights. All that has changed recently, however, as new owners quickly set up shop and brought the atmosphere back to life. On The Green restaurant is in business, and the locals certainly know all about it. On a warm summer evening, I made my way to Litchfield to enjoy a splendid dinner at this popular restaurant, and as I did, I couldn’t help but love everything about it. I had been a fan of Aspen Garden for as long as I could remember. As a kid growing up, we had a summer homestead in Litchfield, (Okay, I admit. It was a trailer parked seasonally at a camp resort, but it was in every way our second home!) and on cool summer nights, we made our way to Aspen Garden for dinner as we enjoyed sitting on their outdoor patio taking in the sights and sounds of Litchfield.

On The Green is rather similar, and I do believe they kept it that way since they knew how popular the location was. With it’s lush flowers surrounding it’s outdoor patio which sits in front of the restaurant overlooking the Litchfield green, On The Green is the perfect choice to have a perfect meal. I was referred to having a very delicious feta cheeseburger with onions and a side of fries. Hey, I’m a single guy, what could I say! It’s certainly no prime rib! I did, however, order a glass of Italian wine to make up for it, which made the meal even more delicious. The food was very well prepared and I savored every bite I could sink my teeth into. This was the Aspen Garden I remember, only ten times better! I couldn’t have asked for a better meal, and I couldn’t have asked for a better night out as I enjoyed a fine glass of wine in the heart of Litchfield, a town noted as one of the finest towns in all of New England, and it’s certainly no wonder as to why!

20110609-103242.jpg

Leave a Reply

