One Wild Ride a Quarter of a Century Later


For those of you who aren’t aware, I’m on vacation in the cornfields of the south visiting with family in Virginia. It’s a trip I make faithfully, and I take the same week off from my corporate job every year. The biggest reason, of course, is because it also happens to be the same week that my birthday occurs, which is today! It’s incredibly hard to believe that as I write this, I have turned twenty five years old. A quarter of a century! I know, I know. There’s some of you out there thinking that I’m absolutely nuts to think that’s a number to be so somber about, but given my amazing childhood, I would do anything to take a time machine back and explore it all again. As I grow older, the more I realize my childhood has left and my future just keeps on getting better.

Virginia is a great place to escape to during my birthday. It is here where it just seems that time stands still. The miles of corn and peas haven’t changed much in the twenty five years that I have been around, and though my family has grown, they have never grown from the good old southern hospitality. Each one has a heart of gold and for that I am blessed to have them in my life.

It’s funny how a place can have such a profound impact on your life. The places you visit, the people you see, all have a say in how your future is shaped. Out here in the country, it’s easy to let loose and be yourself. It’s a place where true discovery happens. No, I’m not insisting I’m a child of the corn or anything like that. What I’m trying to say is that when you’re in a place where you can be yourself and not worry about what society tells you to be like, you can truly find the person that you are inside. Each visit I have made down here to Virginia has indeed involved discoveries just like that.

I’m a humble person. I always have been. I’m not one for anything fancy. I’m here to live my life to the fullest and without many regrets. Life is just too short to do much of anything else. You’ve got to live while you’re alive, and never stop believing in yourself. For the past twenty five years, I have indeed been living my life as such, even through the hardships that have faced me at times. I’m not here to preach to the coir, but I think the secret to living a well balanced life has been my positivity, it has never let me down just like I have never let my own self down. You’ve got to believe in yourself just as much as others believe in you.

I think the corn is really getting to me. Thank-you all for your well wishes today. I am incredibly humbled. I’m hoping to survive the day. I’ll be making my way to a local theme park and riding a few roller coasters. I will ski off the highest peaks, but when it comes to roller coasters, the crying school girl in me comes out.

Let’s see if I make twenty six.

Leave a Reply

