Merry Christmas to All!


It really is the most wonderful time of year, isn’t it? Forget all the horns honking and that guy standing in line next to you wanting to beat you up for taking the last item on the shelf. Christmas is so much more than all that. Sure, it may be a stressful holiday for some, but for many it’s truly a magical season.

When we stop to reflect on all the good that the season brings, the less we’ll think of everything bad that comes with it. (Please continue ignoring that angry man behind you in line who’s practically breathing down your back!) Over the years I have learned many things about Christmas, but one of the most important things that I have learned is to give back.

Growing up an only child, I was used to seeing many gifts under the tree, and every single one of them for me! Today, I wouldn’t have it. I was given a wonderful childhood that I sometimes wish I could have back, but after years of receiving, I’ve turned the tables and it’s time to give back.

Christmas doesn’t have to be monetary, it has to be something that’s from the heart. Something that is memorable and fills ones heart up with joy and compassion. This Christmas, I’ve decided to give back to someone who has given me a great deal over the years, my own mother.

My mother hasn’t enjoyed a vacation in many years, and this year I decided to buy her a Christmas vacation in New England’s famous ski town Killington, Vermont. It was a bit of a compromise. She needed a vacation from reality, and I needed to ski. While she enjoys the array of amenities at the resort, I’ll be on the slopes. I couldn’t have come up with a better Christmas gift. It’s a great way to give back to a woman who has a heart of gold and is such a huge part of my life.

So you see, Christmas really doesn’t have to be monetary. It’s likely to be one of the most memorable Christmas’s and certainly one that we’ll be talking about for years to come. Killington has the snow, so we’ll even top things off with a white Christmas!

From my family to yours, may you all have a very Merry Christmas!

-Mike Valletta

Leave a Reply

