The Cow Story: A Secret to Happiness


People often ask me, “Mike, why are you so darn happy all the time?”. I often come back with the response of “Why, should I be miserable or something?”. It’s a question that is posed to me everyday. Some wonder if it’s the gallons of coffee I drink a day.

Sorry, it’s not the coffee, though I guess it helps. There’s no wonder drug I take either. There’s no such thing as happy pills, nor do I plan to market such an item in the future. If you really want to know why I’m so happy, spend a day in my shoes.

I’m naturally an easy going person, that’s a given. Not much bothers me. In fact, there was once a cow who sat right in the middle of the road on my way to work and had me running behind for about fifteen minutes. Most people would be angered. I couldn’t help but laugh uncontrollably. I mean, how often can you tell your boss you’re going to be late because a cow is your traffic jam.

You see, I remain a pretty positive person because of the way that I see things. It’s all a thought process. Oh sure, I could have chosen to yell out a few choice words at that cow, but do you honestly think that cow would have understood a word I said? No! That cow would have just starred at me like I was speaking a foreign language. I don’t speak cow! Instead, I sat and laughed all about the scenario. Yelling would have just stressed me out, but not that cow. No way.

Being perpetually happy isn’t hard work at all. You just have to adjust your thought process. Why should we be negative all the time? Where is it going to get us? Well, for starters, it’s going to give us a one way ticket to the emergency room. Stress kills, but laughter is the best medicine. Nice connection there, right?

We only live once, and it is up to us to live the life that we want. Should we walk around pouting that we have to go to work, or that we have to do other things that we don’t enjoy doing? Not at all. Think about this for a second. Many of us don’t enjoy going to work. We whine all about Monday. What if we changed our thought process. Work pays the bills, which otherwise wouldn’t be able to be paid without a job, then we’ll be begging to work. See! I totally just changed the thought process, and just like that, instant happiness about going to work.

I challenge you to become a better you. I challenge you to change your thought process. Life is what you make of it. Will you be the one yelling at a cow that doesn’t understand you?

Leave a Reply

