What to do When the Gloom Just Won’t Leave


In case you haven’t noticed, or have been living under a rock, it’s been very gloomy here in the northeast this past week. I haven’t found even a hint of sunshine. I’m now beginning to wonder if I should get the supplies ready to build an ark. If this is what Seattle is like, I don’t think I want to go there anytime soon!

So, what is one to do with so many gloomy days? Go shopping of course! This week, many area malls have been packed with shoppers looking for a bit of retail therapy to get them out of the misery that is our current weather pattern. A bit of sunshine can be found in the malls as shoppers rake in the deals off the sales racks.

My problem: I love to window shop. I don’t exactly shop and spend, I’m more of a shop and dream kind of guy then shop for the deals from my phone. Still, spending quality time in retail paradise this week has been far better than spending time in, well, the not so great outdoors.

I hit up a few of my favorite places to shop this week which are pictured below. Here in Connecticut, I love the Danbury Fair Mall as high end shopping comes alive in New England’s largest mall. The Palisades Mall in West Nyack, NY just outside of the city is my first choice to shop as there are four stories of non stop fun. At the Palisades, you can rock climb, roller skate, work out at the gym, catch a movie, wine and dine, and even explore the seemingly endless supply of stores.

The last stop of the week was at Clinton Crossings Premium Outlets in Clinton, CT just along the Connecticut shoreline. It is the place to soak up the deals! Designer names, at not so designer prices. That’ll make a gloomy day a lot brighter!

2 thoughts on “What to do When the Gloom Just Won’t Leave

Leave a Reply

