You Can’t Cage Up a Social Butterfly


As a bachelor, I don’t spend a lot of time at home. I’m on the go nearly every waking minute. In fact, you can pretty much consider my home nothing more than a mere rest stop, though even that may be giving it too much credit! So, what does a single guy like me do for food exactly? Well, I could tell you honestly it’s not rotting away in the fridge or getting stale in the cupboards because both are bare! Okay, so maybe there’s a can of chicken noodle soup in there somewhere but that’s about the extent of that. Oh, and a bottle of wine on the dining room table, but food? Nope. You just won’t find much edible in my comfortable bachelor pad in the middle of rural northwest Connecticut.

Since I’m on the go so much, going out to eat is a near must. I do admit, I spend quite a bit of money on food expenses, but I do manage to eat healthy by eating at places that promise me a good meal. One of my favorite places is Panera Bread. I’m so glad we have one in our sleepy little upstate town! Since there’s no Starbucks in town, I’ll easily compromise. Panera is a fantastic place to go when you’re a bachelor in part because not only can you enjoy a hearty meal, but you can sit a while and take a load off while you engage in people watching and spending quality time with your iPad or Nook. I’m a huge nerd at heart, I’ll admit it! Spending time at a place like Panera while sitting back on the computer around a room full of people is every nerds best day. After all, who really wants to sit alone at home and eat dinner when you can be out and about around people. I’m a social butterfly, looking at four walls is not for me! It’s sort of like locking some normal person up in a padded room, eventually it will just make them go nuts and they’ll have to stay there.

20120507-191638.jpg

Leave a Reply

